I chose NDC because of their Support-Mzbel

I chose NDC because of their Support-Mzbel

Ghanaian musician Mzbel has disclosed the reason behind her support for the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and not the National Peoples Party (NPP).

The songstress in an interview stated that “I did not support the New Patriotic Party (NPP) because they did not believe in my brand when they were in power from 2001 to 2009”.

Mzbel, a key supporter of former President John Dramani Mahama and the NDC party through out the 2016 polls was seen in the party’s campaign, wearing party T-shirts and criticising then opposition NPP flag bearer Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Speaking on Class Drive on Thursday 23 March, the composer of 16 years said the NPP, while in power under President Kufuor, rejected many of her proposals to organise charity works for the needy, but the NDC supported her works when they held the reins.

She reaffirmed on the show that she would always support the NDC.

Speaking to show host Prince Benjamin, she said: “I will support NDC due to some support I got from them in the past. I have organised a lot of charity events where I got support from their government.

When former President John Kufuor was then President, I had taken proposals to the Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education and so on but nobody believed in me, nobody wanted to associate with Mzbel because they thought of me as a bad girl, a negative brand to associate with.

“But when late president Atta Mills was in power before John Mahama, I got support to help people in Jamestown and to help the needy.

Mzbel advised fans saying “Don’t judge me based on what you read in newspapers or what you read on websites and blogs. If you don’t hear it from me, then it’s not true”.

You should understand that celebrities are also human beings. We like to do silly stuffs like you like to do. We like to take our phones and pull our tongues out and take pictures and be carefree, so sometimes you shouldn’t take these things too seriously, otherwise it would not be fun anymore, we would be like robots, always faking it before you our fans.

